Gluten/Sugar Free Pumpkin Bars

I love being in the kitchen.  Throughout the day I will often find myself on various websites looking up recipes that are preferably Paleo friendly.  One day I found myself thinking about baking.  I’ve been on the Paleo lifestyle for almost two months now and the one thing that I miss having is dessert.  Yes, there’s nature’s candy…

fruit

Sometimes that’s just not going to cut it though.  I need warm tasty sugar goodness.  I want to grab all of the ingredients necessary for chocolate chip cookies and arrange them on my counter around the mixing bowl.  I want to measure them out into whatever serving sizes they’re supposed to be and pop them into the oven.  I want to take that batch of cookies out of the oven and eat one with a glass of ice cold milk.  But the recipe that I’ve been using for years is not Paleo friendly.  CURSES!!    I have a side business as a baker and so every now and again I will get an order for cupcakes, a custom cake for a birthday party, or even cake balls for a baby shower.  All of these things require flour and sugar.  Both are things that I choose not to have.  While I’m baking I think…  “I need this in my belly.  I hope that (insert name here) enjoys this cuz I’m behaving right now and can’t have one.”  So what to do?

Get my Google on!!  I have read a few recipes and experimented and came out with fantastic results.  One of them was a Gluten/Sugar Free Pumpkin Bar:

485002_499749600070892_606746940_n

The kitchen smelled like pumpkin pie and when it came out of the oven and finally into my belly it wasn’t too sweet, it was fluffy, and it satiated my warm dessert craving.  I would have a piece in the morning with breakfast or it was dessert for after lunch or dinner.  It’s Paleo friendly because it’s made with almond flour and I used raw honey as the sweetener.  SO GOOD!  Here’s the recipe:

Gluten/Sugar Free Pumpkin Bars

1 cup pumpkin puree (You can also use acorn, butternut or other squash)
1 cup raw honey
4 eggs
2 cups blanched almond flour (I got mine from Whole Foods in the bulk section)
1/2 teaspoon salthttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=elanaspantryc-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B000EITYUU
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cloves

*Note: If you don’t have the last three ingredients, you can always just use a teaspoon of Pumpkin Spice and add about a 1/2 teaspoon more if you want more of that spicy flavor.  Another note…  if you want to make a smaller batch, you can half the recipe and use an 8×8 pan.  It’ll come out the same.

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2.  Combine all of the wet ingredients together and mix until combined (about two minutes)

3.     Add dry ingredients and mix until combined.

4.     Pour batter into a greased 13 x 9 baking dish

5.     Bake for 30-35 minutes, check for doneness by sticking a toothpick in the center of the dish.  If it comes out clean then it’s done.  If it doesn’t (there’s still wet batter) bake for another 5 minutes and test again.

6.     Let it cool for 30-60 minutes.  Cut and serve to your friends, or hoarde the deliciousness all to yourself!!

Suggestion: If you’re going to serve it warm then I would put a dallop of whip cream either to the side or on top.  This is how my kids like it.  Otherwise, just eat it by itself.  The bars will last a week if you put them in an airtight container.

ENJOY!

2 responses to “Gluten/Sugar Free Pumpkin Bars

  1. Pingback: The Gluten Dispute | Silk & Tofu

Leave a Reply

