Carlsbad 5000

I am a runner.  I ran my first race which was a 9k on August 28, 2011 and I learned a lot about how to run, how to breathe, and better yet… that I need better running shoes.  The first couple of races are a learning experience.  This past Sunday, the boyfriend and I participated in the Carlsbad 5000, which literally was “The World’s Fastest 5k”.

564631_10151346821537019_1599832302_n

The three miles went by fairly quick and when we finished we were both tired, but then felt weird because the race was already over.  Haha!!  We didn’t get a medal because we weren’t one of the first 250 finishers, but that’s okay.  It was still a good race and for such a short weekend we did a lot.

554232_10151346750222019_585288111_n

Here we are after the race.

We drove down from the Bay Area to Carlsbad on a Saturday and that took about 6 or 7 hours.  Then the following morning we had our complimentary breakfast and then headed over to the expo to pick up our race bibs and get on with our race.  The run started at 9:20 and I finished at  33:10:00.  Not my fastest 5k, but then again do the 5k’s on treadmills really count?  I’m still proud of my run.  I know I can do better for the next one.

We followed the run up with a Paleo friendly burger from Burger Lounge.

17824_10151346777427019_960901357_n

Super tasty!!

After a shower and a quick nap back at the hotel, we were on the road again.  We made a stop in Solvang because it’s a beautiful little Danish Town.  Unfortunately for us everything was on the verge of closing so we didn’t get to peruse the many shops that they had there.  Another day perhaps…

Dinner was at Bit O’ Denmark, which was very tasty and filling.  Then finally the 4 hour drive back home.

I learned a couple of things on this weekend trip:

1.  Starfish are edible.

2.  How to cook a starfish.

3.  My boyfriend prefers the Manhattan Clam Chowder over the New England Clam Chowder, and we’re going to make an attempt one of these to make it at home.

4.  Doesn’t matter what I wear, the boyfriend says it’s going to end up on the floor anyway.  <—  Ohhh Myyyy!!  😛

Anyhoo…  goal after this race in terms of fitness:  5k in under 30 minutes.  It WILL happen!!

Leave a Reply

