Gluten and Sugar Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

 

I think the first recipe I ever decided to try and bake in the kitchen was chocolate chip cookies.  I couldn’t tell you how old I was, but I was of course younger than I am now, and there was a bag of chocolate chips that normally I would tear into and eat.  But that day was different.  I stopped to read the back of the package and found a recipe, and I decided that I wanted to try making it.  Was it a success?  Probably, because I continued to try out other recipes.  Brownies would be the next recipe that I tried and again, that was a success.  I do recall using instant hot cocoa mix instead of regular cocoa powder because that’s what we had on hand at the time.  Didn’t taste quite the same, but it was still chocolatey.  It wasn’t until I had moved out of the house that I decided to try making other desserts such as cheesecake, cake, or pies.  Then I discovered the Food Network Channel and everything changed from there.  I wanted to cook.  I wanted to try every single recipe that the chefs were preparing on their shows.

So let’s fast forward to today…

I’m still baking cookies the traditional way with regular flour, eggs, and two types of sugar, but now that I’ve cut WAY back on sugar regular cookies are too sweet for me.  So I figure, if it’s too sweet for me, then it’s definitely too sweet for my kids.  I’ve been getting my google on the last couple of weeks and reading different chocolate chip recipes.  Gluten free, sugar free, dairy free, and so on and so forth.  Now in previous recipes I’ve always put on a disclaimer saying that I don’t measure.  Well with baking…  I measure.  Put too much or too little of something and the end result is disastrous!  When I bake, I want my dessert to be as perfect as possible.  So below the measurements are exact.  Oh wait…  except for the chocolate chips.  😛

 

GLUTEN/SUGAR FREE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

photo

(Not pictured:  Chocolate Chips)

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups almond meal

¼ teaspoon sea salt

¼ teaspoon baking soda

10 tablespoons butter, melted

1 tablespoon vanilla

½ cup raw honey (you can also use agave nectar)

1 cup chocolate chips (To be honest, I grabbed about 3 handfuls and threw them in)

 

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350F

2.  Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix together.  Make sure there are no lumps.

3.  Stir together wet ingredients in a smaller bowl and mix.

4.  Add wet ingredients into dry and mix til everything is incorporated.

5.  Using a cookie scoop, scoop dough and place onto a parchment paper/silpat lined baking sheet.  Make sure you press the cookie dough down.  Leaving them in ball shape will keep them in the ball shape and the cooking time is longer (15 -20 minutes) or you will have uncooked cookie dough in the middle (Still super tasty, but some people don’t like that).  You don’t have to press down too hard or make them too flat.  Just make them the usual round cookie shape.

image

6.  Bake at 350° for 7-10 minutes.  (Cooking time will vary depending on your oven.  Some will say that they are 350 degrees, but LIES!  You know your oven so use your best judgment.  Start with the lower cook time if you know that your oven runs hot and then add 2 minutes if it’s not at the doneness level that you like.  I didn’t use a convection oven so it took 10 minutes to cook.)

7.  Let the cookies cool on the pan for 5 minutes before moving to a baking rack or serving dish.

Makes about 24 cookies

image[1]

 

What would I change about this recipe?  Nada.  Well…  maybe add macadamia or almonds to them.  Mmmm…  Give it a little more crunch and texture.  These came out beautifully and I can’t wait to go home and have about 7 of them with a glass of raw milk.  😛  ENJOY!

2 responses to “Gluten and Sugar Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Almond Bread - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Cookie Dough That’s Safe to Eat | Silk & Tofu

Leave a Reply

