Ox Tail Stew

I am Filipino and so the idea of having ox tail for dinner doesn’t gross me out at all.  Tender, fall off the bone meat in a Filipino dish called Kare Kare.  My favorite Filipino comfort food.  I have yet to ask my Mother for the recipe and see if it’s Paleo friendly.  Even if it isn’t I will definitely try to make it so.

Two nights ago my boyfriend and I went to MOM’s (an Oriental Market) to check out their meat selection and purchase some meat.  Ox tail happened to be on sale that night so I picked up two packages.  When cooking ox tail you have to slow cook it for a couple of hours.  If you don’t it’s not so tender and it’s quite difficult to eat.  You kinda feel like you’re gnawing on bone.  For this recipe I used a handy dandy crock pot.  If you don’t have a crock pot then you can use a dutch oven/cast iron pot or just a regular old stock pot/large pot.  I’ve put instructions in my notes below.

Please note that I do not measure when I cook so any measurements below are guesstimates.  When adding seasoning please add a little at a time or if you know that that’s how spicy/salty you like your dish then use your best judgment.  You can always add more after the dish is cooked.

 

OX TAIL STEW

 

Ingredients:

4 pounds (At least I THINK it was 2 pounds a pack) of beef ox-tail

1-15 oz. can of organic diced tomatoes

4-5 gloves of garlic (Golly SMASH!!  No cutting involved!  Just take out some aggression and smash em!)

1 small white onion (rough chop.  I cut it in 1/8’s)

2 carrots (Peel them and rough chop em)

1 tblsp of chopped fresh Italian Parsley

1/2 cup of Chardonnay (It’s the wine I had on hand.  This is optional.)

Salt/Pepper/Cumin to taste

photo

 

Not Pictured:  Wine

Note:  If I had celery I would have put about 2-3 stalks and roughly chopped them.  Ah well…

 

Directions: 

1.  Grab your crockpot and throw everything in it.

image

2.  Put the lid on and cook on low heat for 8-10 hours or high heat for 4-6 hours.

3.  POW!!  DONE!!  Serve in bowls and ENJOY!!   😉

image[1]

 

Now if you’re cooking using a dutch oven/cast iron pot then you’re going to need 4-1/2 cups of beef stock.  Here’s what I like to do:

1.  Preheat oven to 350F

2.  Heat up some coconut oil or butter in your pot over medium high heat and sear/brown the tails all over.

3.  Remove ox tail and add the other ingredients except for the wine.  You want to brown up the veggies a bit.  Should take about 5 minutes or so.

4.  Return ox tail to the pot and add wine.  Turn heat up to high and let it boil til almost evaporated.

5.  Add the 4-1/2 cups of beef stock and bring to a simmer.

6.  Turn off stove, Plop the top on that sucker and put into the oven where it will cook 1.5-2 hours or until desired tenderness.

 

And if you’re cooking just on stove top with a large pot then do the same as the above, but when the stock comes to a simmer put it on medium to low heat.  You want to keep it on a slow simmer.  This will then cook for 2 hours or until desired tenderness.

 

I don’t know if I would add any sides to this.  There’s already vegetables in the stew.  It’s savory, but not heavy.  Definitely filling.  Like all stews and the same is true with sauces, letting sit overnight to soak in its own juices just increases the flavor.  I highly suggest that you invest in a crock pot because I was able to do a quick prep of the ingredients and then throw them into the pot in 15-20 minutes.  Great dish for someone who’s always on the go, but doesn’t want to sacrifice a delicious home cooked meal for some fast food joint or overpriced restaurant.

Hope you enjoyed this dish as much as I did!!

 

Leave a Reply

