I felt like chicken last night…

For some reason on Wednesday night I always feel like eating chicken.  It must be because whenever I ask my kids what they want to eat for dinner they usually respond with either Mac and Cheese (Not the home made one, which I know how to make, but the boxed one.  GROSS!!  Never again!!), Noodles (They mean Top Ramen or Maruchan instant noodles.  Yeah…  NO.), or Chicken and Rice.  I always opt for the chicken and rice because the prep is next to nothing.  Then I either hang with them in the other room while they play, or I have them help me bake something for dessert.  Wednesday is a very chill day.  A day to rest from the non-stop weekend up to Tuesday.  There’s always something going on and it’s busy busy busy.

So last night I defrosted 4 leg quarters (leg with attached thigh) and I cut the legs off of the thigh, seasoned it with Montreal Seasoning and Garlic Salt and then popped it in the preheated oven.  The recipe below is for two of them.  The other two I made a curry with which I have posted HERE.  The rice is incredibly easy to make especially if you own a  rice cooker.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t measure the water using the lines on the pot.  I use my finger.  Does anyone else do that?  I know you’re out there.  Making it in a pot is easy as well, but be careful about burning the bottom.

Anyhoo…  here’s the super easy and simple recipe for…

ROAST CHICKEN (Legs and Thighs)

Ingredients:

2 chicken legs

2 chicken thighs

Garlic Salt and Montreal Seasoning (sprinkle as much or as little as you want of each.  You know how you like it… ;-P )

Directions:

1.   Preheat oven to 350F

2.  Get your baking dish/tray and grease it up with coconut oil/butter/bacon fat/or anything else that is Paleo friendly/will keep your chicken from sticking to the dish.

3.  Season your chicken

4.  Place chicken on bakeware and pop in oven.

5.  Bake for 20 minutes and flip.  Then cook for another 20 minutes.

6.  DONE!!

image

image[1]

I don’t eat rice so I threw a small yam in the oven with the chicken.  When I flipped the chicken I also turned the yam.  They both come out at the same time.  Easy peasy!!

While all of this was cooking I experimented with home made Paleo friendly ice cream.  I will make sure to post the recipe, the pictures, and the review tomorrow.  I don’t have a fancy shmancy ice cream maker so it took a couple of hours of babysitting it to make sure that it was coming out right.  I checked it this morning and yes…  it came out right.  Again, I’ll post about it tomorrow.

Edit – 4/12/13:  Here is my recipe for the home made ice cream.

Leave a Reply

