Homemade Banana Nut Ice Cream

Who just made her own ice cream at home the other day?  Yes you got it!!  That would be me.  Do you even realize how easy and inexpensive it is to make ice cream at home?  I think you should try it.  I would imagine that it is WAY easier to make ice cream if you have one of those fancy shmancy ice cream makers, but I didn’t have one.  I didn’t really feel like going out and buying one either so I got my google on and found “How To Make Ice Cream Without a Machine” which was a very helpful article.  Check it out!

I seriously considered going to the store and buying an ice cream maker after reading the article.  2-3 hours of freeze time BEFORE I can even try it?  LAME!!  But…  it was getting late and I didn’t want to dish out 20-50 bucks on a machine that I would probably use maybe once in a blue moon.  Plus, I think you have to put the metal bowl in the freezer for a couple of hours prior.  Meh…

Anyhoo… The following recipe was found at “The Preppy Paleo” but since I had JUST found the recipe right when I had the desire to make ice cream, none of the items were frozen or chilled.  If you are doing the research and you have time to prep the items beforehand then follow the recipe at the website.  Otherwise here’s how I did it:

 

Homemade Banana Nut Ice Cream

Ingredients:

photo

2 large bananas, broken into chunks

1-8oz box of coconut milk (I use Aroy-D)

1 tbs. nut butter (I used Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter)

2 tbs. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp. organic vanilla extract

 

Directions:

1.  Put a stainless steel bowl in the freezer.

2.  Put all ingredients in a food processor (or a blender if you don’t have a food processor) and blend until combined and smooth.  Make sure there are no chunks of banana.

image

3.  Put ice cream blend into the bowl that was in the freezer, and then put that bowl back in the freezer.  Make sure it’s an even surface.  You wouldn’t want that bowl to tip over.

4.  Set timer to go off every 30-45 minutes.  When timer goes off, get a whisk or spatula and mix it.  Break any frozen bits (they’ll be at the edges of the bowl) and make sure your ice cream is smooth.

image[1]

 

Look at my happy and handsome Little Man helping me make ice cream.  🙂

5.  Over the next 2-3 hours you will be repeating #4 until your ice cream is frozen to the consistency that you like.

6.  Now if you want, you can add mix-ins to your ice cream and the possibilities are endless!!  Mini chocolate chips or chopped roasted almonds.  Mmmm…  I left mine the way it was because it’s my first time making the ice cream at home.

image[2]

 

And above is the finished product!!  I had some frozen blueberries and had it with my ice cream.  This recipe was kid approved by my two little ones and I like that they each had a chance to stir it as it was freezing.  Now they can tell their friends that they know how to make ice cream at home.  What I love about the recipe is that there’s very little processed sugar in it.  I’m sure if I used regular nut butter instead of the one that I had used, it would be considered sugar free.  I am definitely making this again.  ENJOY!!

6 responses to “Homemade Banana Nut Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: I felt like chicken last night… | Golly Gone Primal

  2. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.

    ..HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  3. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for info about this subject for a while and yours is the best I’ve
    found out so far. But, what concerning the bottom line?
    Are you positive in regards to the source?

  4. Superb post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more
    on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

