Trotter Adobo

Shopping at the local oriental market, to me, is a lot of fun.   There’s a large selection of meat and seafood to choose from, but it’s inexpensive.  You most likely will  not find grass-fed beef or free-range chicken, but at 89 cents a pound for chicken legs…  Uh…  yeah.  SOLD!  The other day I picked up two packages of pigs feet, or, as my friend Miiss Dee would call them:  Trotters.  I kinda like calling them “Trotters”.  She says it’s a Southern thing.  I couldn’t remember the last time that I had eaten them so I had to have them.

There are many different ways to cook and serve Trotters, but this particular recipe calls for a crock pot.  PaleoJoe (My boyfriend) and I took a bunch of friends to the Los Gatos Creek Trail to go hiking.  Before we left I had gotten the crock pot out and prepped dinner.  I figured I would go back to my roots and serve up Adobo.  What I love about the Filipino Adobo recipe is that you can use any kind of meat.  Though I have yet to use or see anyone use seafood.  Not sure how that would taste.  But anyhoo…  chicken/pork/beef adobo is super YUM!

Please note that I do not measure when I cook.  All measurements listed below are guesstimates so please season your food to your liking.

 

TROTTER ADOBO (PIG’S FEET ADOBO)

 

Ingredients:

2 packages (3-4 pounds I think) of Pig’s Feet

1 medium yellow onion (Cut into 1/4’s)

4 garlic cloves (SMASH!! RAWR!!)

salt and pepper (or if you have the whole peppercorns then I would use about a tablespoon.)

4-5 bay leaves

1/2 cup of soy sauce

1/4 cup of vinegar

1/4 cup of water

Directions:

1.  Throw everything in the crock pot and turn it on high.

image[1]

2.  At about the 5 or 6 hour mark I took the meat out and cut it.  Then I put it back in the crock pot, mixed it about so that the meat is covered in the sauce, and then I put the top back on and let it cook another 2-3 hours.

 

photo

 

3.  Your food will be cooked at 8-10 hours.  The meat should be falling of the bones.  The kitchen should smell wondrous.  At this point you want to turn your crock pot down to warm or shut it off completely.  Serve it in bowls and ENJOY!!

image

 

Note:  Normally, I would put potato in the pot or serve it with a side of rice, but…  I am on the Paleo Diet so no grains or potatoes for me!!  If you want to add potatoes, I suggest the yukon gold potato.  Use about 2 small ones, or 1 medium/large one and cube it up.  Maybe…  2 inch cubes.  Put them potatoes in after you cut the feet.  So at about the 5-6 hour mark.  If you put them in at the start they’re just going to get mushy.  What I love about Trotters is the marrow!!  I don’t know what it is about marrow, but I find it quite tasty.  You will also need baby wipes because if you’re like me…  you’re going to get messy and your hands are going to get sticky.  I don’t know why they will, but they will.  So don’t make this if you’re trying to impress a date and get laid.  😛

Leave a Reply

