Mise en place…

If you watch Food Network or any other food/cooking channel you may have heard “Mise en place” before.

Mise en place (pronounced [miz on plas]) is a French phrase which means “putting in place”, as in set up.  <–  Snagged from Wikipedia

I don’t know about you, but I like to make sure that I have all of the ingredients needed for a recipe before I start cooking.  It’s like grabbing a bowl, pouring your favorite cereal, but then when you open the fridge…  *sad face* there isn’t any milk.  I KNOW some of you have done this.  It’s a world of disappointment when this happens.  You can either go to the store and buy more milk, eat the cereal dry, or just put the cereal back and go about your day.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve pulled out ingredients for cookies or cake, and then find I’m out of sugar, baking powder, or *gasp* chocolate chips.  (I’ve got a sneaky 4-year-old girl who likes to hide under the dining table and eat chocolate.)

So now I’ve gotten into the habit of mise en place.  Sometimes it’s a big pain in the butt to get everything out and then find that you’re missing one ingredient.  Gotta put everything back.  Work your brain muscle!!  Try and remember what you have in your fridge/pantry so you don’t have to scurry about the kitchen to look for everything.  I’ve got a pretty good mental picture of not only my kitchen, but PaleoJoe’s kitchen so cooking at either location is fast and easy.  Take the time to get familiar with what you have in stock.

bc770ffe03d0f5a928adfc1d48e648e06c84ef39

“One can get too familiar with vegetables you know!!”  <–  Hey girl HEY!!  Has got to be one of my favorite lines from Disney’s Ratatouille.  😛

It’s also good to plan your meals in advance.  Especially if you work a full-time, weekday job.  Start with a sheet paper and label it Monday through Friday on top, and then on the side label it Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner.  If you want, and I recommend it…  add at least 2 snacks.  Save your money and gas.  Make food at home.  Lunch time will be so much easier when you bring your own food.  You’ll even have time to go for a quick walk before having to get back on that grind.

 

Now what to eat?  Do you want to do something easy as Chicken all week?  Here’s a simple menu that I would suggest for you:

Breakfast:  3 hardboiled eggs, one banana and coffee/green tea

Snack:  1/2 cup of almonds and a piece of fruit.

Lunch:  Grilled chicken breast (seasoned with garlic salt and pepper, or even lemon pepper) with a side of roasted sweet potatoes, asparagus or broccoli.

Snack:  yogurt cup

 

Notes:  Hard boiled eggs will last a week in the fridge.  The chicken lunch can be cooked on Sunday and then separated into containers to be stored in the fridge until you need it.  You can get something similar at Wally World

rubbermaid-easy-find-lid-8-piece-food-storage-set-d-201112151410487~157811

Oh and forego the brown paper bag.  Get an uber snazzy cooler lunch box like this Batman one that I have:

51hJt7J6gYL._SY300_

 

Now as I am partaking in the Paleolithic Lifestyle, I have omitted grains and other such non-Paleo friendly foods.  If you’re not quite there yet, then feel free to add some granola to that yogurt.  How about a small side of Quinoa to that chicken?  Please note that I am not a dietician or nutritionist or any such certified whatevermacallits.  Consult your doctor before taking on any kind of diet plan.  I am just here to coach you, motivate you, inspire you to make healthier choices.  If that’s not your bag then no worries!!  Oh and always always always drink water.  Staying hydrated is a wonderful thing!!  That’s a whole nother post right there.  😛

So right about now I have completely lost my train of thought and don’t quite know how to end this rant other than:  Mise en place and Meal Prep.  Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

