Elliptical Machine…

There is nothing more satisfying than finishing something you started.  I felt that sense of accomplishment this morning when I put tightened the last screw on the elliptical machine I had assembled this morning.

So a little back story on this machine…  I work for a small company and in my office there are only two full-time people working at all times.  That would be me and my boss.  There are others in the company, but I barely see them or they don’t know enough English for me to be able to communicate with them.  I end up chatting with my boss a lot when we’re not busy working.  Last week she and I were talking about running and exercise.  She mentioned to me that she would like to get more active, but doesn’t have the time.  I tell her that we all have the same amount of hours in the day.  It all depends on how we use it.  Time management!!  I told her that there are lots of little things that she could do here in the office that doesn’t require any fitness equipment at all, and I showed her a thing or two.  She laughs and says, “Oh no, I can’t do that.”

I then joke around and say, “Then why don’t you get a treadmill for the office.  You can be walking on the machine during a conference call.”  She says, “Won’t that be loud?  What if we get an elliptical?  That’s not too loud.”  I laugh and tell her I’ll look at a couple of them and she can have them delivered to the office.

A couple days go by and I had remembered our conversation about the elliptical machine and so I did a quick search at Walmart for a cheap yet highly rated machine and sent her the link.  I didn’t think she was serious, but she ended up buying the machine.  Woo-hoo!!

image[1]

This awesome box came to the office yesterday afternoon and I wanted it to be my first priority the following morning.

When I got to the office today I checked e-mail and lucky me…  nada!  So I had all the time in the world to put together the machine.  When I first opened the box and started taking things out I was a bit intimidated because I would be doing this by myself, and the reviews on the website were telling me that the tools given in the box kinda sucked.  I didn’t have any tools at the office so I had to use what I was given.

 

image

 

So far so good!!  Now let me tell you that there were two things that stumped me and that was attaching a large bolt on the left side of the machine and then the sensors.  I was a little frustrated because I thought I had to use brute force to get the bolt in, but I found out that I was turning the screw the wrong way.  In this case, lefty loosey was tighty righty.  Get that I mean?  Then the sensors…  I thought I was missing a connector or I didn’t pull the cord all the way through and it was sitting at the bottom of the pole.  Nope!!  It was a whole nother wire on a whole nother part.  Nyuk nyuk!

photo

 

POW!!  Work complete!!  It took me about 3.5 hours.  It probably would have taken me less, but I had to take a break out of frustration otherwise I would have thrown it down the stairs.  I did it!!  Now I can exercise for about 10-15 minutes on break or even during lunch if I wanted to.  How about THEM apples?  🙂

What I like about elliptical machines is that it’s easy on the joints.  When I was a bit heavier, running hurt.  My left knee was always giving me trouble, so doing exercises like lunges or squats caused me pain.  When I knew that I wanted to give a half marathon a go, I would use this machine to build up strength in my muscles so that I can later move to the treadmill and then running outdoors shortly after.  It’s a good machine to start with for cardio.

One response to “Elliptical Machine…

  1. Thank you a great deal for giving everyone an extraordinarily nice opportunity to read posts and weblog posts from this site. It is usually extremely excellent plus jam-packed with a lot of fun for me personally and my office acquaintances to go to your site around the least 3 times every week to read through the fresh advice you’ve. And definitely, I’m whatsoever times pleased with all of the amazing information served by you. Particular 4 tips on this web page are ultimately the extremely very best I have had.

Leave a Reply

