Celery Root (Celeriac)

 

image[3]

What is celery root?  They’re kind of ugly.  They’re dirty, they look funny, and they come in all shapes and sizes.  I had gotten 6 of them in my Full Circle harvest box last week and it would be my first time eating them.  I had PaleoJoe look up a couple of recipes and most of them say to roast, boil, or shred them raw into a salad.  We decided to boil and puree them, and serve them as a side dish to our Slow Cooked Wild Boar Shoulder.

CELERY ROOT PUREE

Ingredients:

3 celery roots (wash, peel and cut them up)

4 tablespoons of butter

1/4-1/2 cup of milk

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1.  Wash, peel and cut the celery root.

image[2]

2.  Place pieces in a pot.  Add enough water to cover the pieces.

image[1]

3.  Turn heat to high and let boil for 15 minutes or until the celery root pieces are soft and tender.

4.  Drain water.

5.  Add butter and milk.

image

6.  Using an immersion blender (or a potato masher if you don’t have a fancy shmancy blender) blend the celery root til it is the consistency that you like.

photo

 

7.  Taste the puree.  Add salt and pepper (or whatever herb/spice that you like) until it is to your liking.

 

So what does celery root taste like?  It tastes like celery.  😛  If you’re on the Paleo Lifestyle like I am, it’s another alternative to mashed potatoes.  I think the next time I get celery root I’m going to fry them or even roast them. We shall see.  I’ve read that they keep pretty well in the fridge.  So if you plan on getting some, keep them in a bag in the vegetable section of your fridge.  Treat them like you would a bag of carrots and they should last you about 3 months.

For nutritional info…  CLICK HERE.

3 responses to “Celery Root (Celeriac)

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooked Wild Boar Boneless Shoulder | Golly Gone Primal

    • Mmmm!! Parsnips!! I did a recipe with those, but now that I think about it… I don’t think I’ve posted it. I’ll have to figure out what happened to the pictures. Celery root is pretty tasty! You should definitely try it. I want to try shredding it and putting it on a salad. It’s not the prettiest since it’s a root, but it sure is versatile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

