Zucchini Pizza

I always second guess myself whenever I type out “zucchini”.  Is it two C’s or two N’s?  It’s two C’s.  Vacuum messes me up too.

Back to the original subject:  Zucchini Pizza.  I miss pizza.  I’ve started living my life Paleo and because of it…  I can’t have normal pizza.  Eh, I’ve made it work though.  I’ve made these delicious treats which are WAY healthier than normal pizza.  I’ve also made a coconut flour crust pizza, which I will most likely make a post about sometime in the future.

In the harvest box that I get every two weeks there was a bag of zucchini and normally I would cut it up and put it in a stir fry, but I wanted to try something different.  A friend of mine posted something similar to this on facebook and I knew that I wanted to try it.  I’m always looking for new recipes to try, and if they aren’t Paleo friendly then I find a way to make it so.  Below is the recipe:

 

ZUCCHINI PIZZA

Ingredients:

7 zucchini (Use as many or as little as you want. Tops cut off and sliced in half.

Tomato Sauce

Parmesan Cheese

Shredded Mozzarella cheese

olive oil

 

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  Wash and prep your zucchini.

photo

3.  Drizzle baking sheet with olive oil and arrange zucchini on pan.

image image[1]

4.  Spread tomato sauce on zucchini.

image[2]

5.  Top with parmesan cheese.

image[3]

6.  Bake in oven for 15 minutes.

7.  Take pan out of oven and top with mozzarella cheese.

image[4]

8.  Put pan back in oven and cook for another 5-10 minutes (you’re just melting the cheese)

9.  DONE!!  Serve on a plate and ENJOY!!

image[5]

 

Note:  You can add any toppings that you want to this dish.  Want pepperoni or sausage?  SURE!!  Add that in step 5.  It’s a very versatile dish.  You can put whatever toppings or cheese that you wish.  I think some stores even have a pizza blend.  I like to use Parmesan, Monterey Jack, and Mozzarella cheese for my pizza.  This would make an excellent appetizer/side dish or even an entree.  It’s not vegan friendly because of the cheese, and I know that there are some Paleo people that don’t eat dairy, but the cheese used was raw and unpasteurized.  Dairy is a gray area for Paleo.  PaleoJoe and I try to keep to the raw and unpasteurized dairy as much as we can.  Just so you know.  Oh and nutritional facts about zucchini can be found HERE.

Leave a Reply

