Banana Bread

Since I’ve been on the Paleo Diet I’ve been trying out different breads that you can purchase at the store and I’ve even tried a few recipes as well.  If you are a bread eater then you know that most breads are soft and fluffy.  Some have a nice crunchy crust, but you know that a majority of breads are soft in the middle.  Moist.  The gluten free or Paleo friendly breads that I’ve been trying are dense, dry and sometimes they crumble.  I made one recently that was very eggy, but that was because it was coconut flour and coconut flour sucks up all the moisture.  I’ll probably post that recipe sometime later.

I am determined to find a fluffy, moist and soft Paleo friendly bread recipe.  I miss having a simple grilled cheese sandwich sometimes.

So for this recipe I got my google on and found this recipe on FOOD RENEGADE.  I opted out of honey and chocolate chips, though thinking back on it now…  I should’ve made one loaf with the chocolate chips.  Ah well.  It’s all trial and error anyway.  I had a lot of bananas that were getting a bit ripe and I would rather it not go to waste.  So I baked.  As you’ll see in the pictures the bread doesn’t rise (no yeast) and I know that baking soda and baking powder are leavening agents and are supposed to help the bread rise, but that didn’t happen.

But… what I did like was that the bread didn’t taste eggy, there was more moisture in this bread than what I’ve tried in other breads.  Perhaps next time I’ll use honey and see if that adds more moisture.  Opting out of the honey doesn’t mean that the bread didn’t have any sweetness to it at all.  The bananas, being as ripe as they were, gave it just enough sweetness.  I’m also considering pureeing some dates instead of honey.  We shall see.  Oh and it also wasn’t crumbly.  It held together while we were ripping into it this morning.  I didn’t have time to cut slices and so I just wrapped it up in plastic and took it with me to eat on the way to work.  I would also like to see if I can substitute a cup of almond or coconut flour with another flour.  Perhaps that will fluff it up a bit?  Again, we’ll see.  I’ll tinker around with the recipe, but for now…  here is the recipe from FOOD RENEGADE.

Note:  I’ve pretty much kept the recipe the same.  Anything I changed or didn’t use I have put my notes in parenthesis and italicized.  I also added my pictures because I am a visual and hands-on learner, and I’m sure there are some of you people out there that are like me.

Almond Flour Banana Bread

The Players

image

  • 4 C. almond flour (Got mine at Sprouts for 5.99 a pound)
  • 2 C. coconut flour (got mine at Whole Foods for 6.99 a pound)
  • 1 C. dark chocolate chips (I didn’t add this to my bread, but you can if you want.  Cocoa nibs will give it a nutty flavor and crunch, Chocolate Chips will add more sweetness)
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. aluminum-free baking powder (I got my can at New Leaf)
  • 1/4 C. honey (I opted out of honey because I knew that my bananas were very ripe and would be sweet enough)
  • 1/2 C. coconut oil (Got mine at Sprouts)
  • 6 eggs (Used conventional eggs because that’s what was in the fridge.  The organic eggs I usually have are at PaleoJoe’s place)
  • 2 tbs. vanilla (Got mine from New Leaf)
  • 2 1/2 C. mashed bananas (approximately 5 small bananas, I threw them in a food processor.  If you don’t have one, then mash em like you would potatoes.)

The How-To

1. In a mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients — almond flour, coconut flour, chocolate chips, salt, baking soda, & baking powder.

image[1]

2. In a separate mixing blow, combine all wet ingredients — honey, coconut oil, eggs, vanilla, & bananas.

image[2]

3. Combine wet and dry ingredients thoroughly with a spoon. (I mixed it a little bit at a time.  I didn’t dump it all into the bowl at once.  It’s less mess and it ensures that all ingredients combine well.) Transfer into two loaf pans or one bundt cake pan or 24 muffin tins. Cook at 350F. If using two loaf pans, cook for about 40 minutes. If using a bundt cake pan, cook for about 45-50 minutes. If using muffin tins, cook for about 25 minutes. (Now as you can see in the second picture that it’s not a liquidy batter like in cake.  It’s kind of like play dough.  I used two loaf pans, as you can see from the pictures, and I greased it up with a coconut oil spray.  I separated the dough and pressed down so that it was even on all sides.  My daughter helped by using her hands on the one on top, and I used the spatula for the one on the bottom.  She did a great job right?  🙂 Baked for 40 minutes.)

image[3] image[4] image[5]

4. Remove cooking tins from oven, and let cool completely (I turned it out onto a bakers rack about a 2 minutes after they came out of the oven and they were fine.  I did leave them out overnight to cool down.  Then I wrapped both in plastic wrap in the morning.) before removing from cooking tins and serving up this delicious almond flour banana bread to your family and friends. Freeze whatever you don’t think you’ll eat within a couple of days!

image[6] image[7]

 

And there you have it.  I would like to keep tweaking the recipe and see if I can use other flours so that I can really fluff up this bread.  Going by this recipe it’s very good.  If you would like to, add some walnuts for another texture.  I would also like to add a bit of cinnamon to give it some spice.  Perhaps a teaspoon.  I’m also considering changing the bananas to pumpkin and making it a pumpkin bread.  Hmmm…  We shall see.

ENJOY!

4 responses to “Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: The Guy Domestic – Basic Cheese Blintz Loaf | TheGuyDomestic

  2. Pingback: Tastes just like banana bread! | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a Reply

