Gluten Free Cashew Nut Butter Cookies

image[4]

I think cookies would have to be my favorite dessert to create.  They’re easy to make, they’re quick to cook, and they’re portable.  If I wanted to, I could have a bag of cookies in my purse right now to snack on throughout the day.  But cookies are treats and should only be eaten in moderation.  I don’t care how “healthy” you make a dessert.  It is still a dessert.

For this dessert recipe, PaleoJoe wanted me to make cookies using the Cashew Nut Butter that we had made, see recipe HERE.  The recipe below is simple and only a few ingredients.  What you get is a soft and moist cookie.  I’m sure if you cooked it longer you can crisp it up, but I just think it’s going to make it chewy.  Entirely up to you though.

 

GLUTEN FREE CASHEW NUT BUTTER COOKIES

Ingredients:

1 cup almond flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1/3 cup cashew nut butter (unsalted, no sweetener added)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2.  In a bowl, mix your dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.)  Get rid of the lumps.

image

3.  In another bowl, beat the egg and add the cashew nut butter and vanilla.  Mix until smooth.

image[1]

 

4.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix.

image[2]

 

5.  Using a cookie scoop, or if you can eyeball it (about 1.5 – 2 tblsp of dough), place the dough out on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silpat.  Note:  Try to make your cookie dough balls as even as possible.  You want them to cook evenly.  Oh and unfortunately, the dough is moist and sticky so you are unable to make the familiar criss-cross pattern that you would see in a peanut butter cookie.

6.  Bake for 11-13 minutes.

7.  Gently move the cookies to a cooling tray as soon as they are done baking.

image[3]

 

And there you have it!  Using the cookie scooper that I had, it made a dozen cookies.  Not all cookie scoopers are created equal by the way.  I would like to tinker with this recipe a bit more.  Like I noted above, there’s no criss-cross pattern and when I think of a nut butter cookie I think of that smooshing down with a fork thing.  I thought perhaps adding more flour would just make the cookie taste like the flour.  Might not be a bad thing since it’s almond flour, but still.  I also would like to get rid of the sugar.  I’ll try raw honey next time, though I’m thinking that it’ll make the dough more sticky and moist.  Perhaps making it a cake-like cookie.  We’ll see.  Stevia maybe?  Experimenting is fun!!

Anyhoo…  ENJOY!

One response to “Gluten Free Cashew Nut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

