Spinach and Three Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast

Have I mentioned that I am particularly fond of chicken?  There’s so much you can do with it, and it is very good at absorbing flavor.  I would have to say that I favor the dark meat more than I do the white only because it has more fat.  And fat is tasty!  For this particular recipe I used the white meat/breast.

PaleoJoe and I like to prepare our meals ahead of time.  I am kind of a control freak and can get in the zone when I’m cooking.  I would prefer that no one get in my way, but since we’re a team and PaleoJoe knows how to work with me in the kitchen, cooking with him is enjoyable.  So a big thank you to my love for being awesome!  😛

Okay, back to the recipe.  Please note that I don’t measure when I’m cooking.  The measurements below are guesstimates.  I recommend that you season your food with just a little bit of seasoning and then after it’s all cooked then you can taste it and add more to your liking.

 

SPINACH AND THREE CHEESE STUFFED CHICKEN BREAST

Ingredients:

2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breast (Get your aggression out and smash that meat flat!  Makes it easier to roll when it’s all the same thickness.)

1 egg

3-4 tablespoons of shredded parmesan cheese

1 cup of ricotta cheese

1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese

3 clovees of garlic (minced or sliced.  up to you how thick you want your garlic)

3 handfuls of baby spinach

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

Salt and pepper (and any other seasoning you would like)

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 F

2.  Heat skillet with coconut oil on medium to medium high heat.  Add baby spinach and cook til wilted.

image[3] (3)  photo (2)

3.  Put spinach to side to cool off.

4.  In a bowl, add the three cheeses, 1 egg, and garlic.  Mix.

image (3) image[2] (3) photo (3) image[1] (3)

5.  By now, your spinach has cooled down a bit.  Add spinach to bowl and mix.

image (2) image[1] (2)

6.  Season your chicken if you haven’t already.  In the center of each chicken breast you want to plop down your cheese mixture.

image[2] (2) image[3] (2)

7.  Time to roll!

photo image

8.  On a baking sheet, drizzle olive oil or coconut oil (whichever you prefer) and then place your chicken seam side down.

image[1]

9.  Pop it in the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes on each side.  Make sure you flip!

10.  When all is said and done, take out chicken, serve and ENJOY!

image[2] image[3]

 

I think the next time I make this I’ll have the chicken sitting in a pesto marinade.  That’ll give it tons more flavor!  If you’re not Paleo or Gluten Free, then I would suggest serving this over some pasta noodles and pesto/tomato/or cream sauce.  Mmm…  tasty…  The stuffed chicken breast was a meal all it’s own so I didn’t need to eat it with a side.  Anyhoo…  enjoy!

5 responses to “Spinach and Three Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast

  1. Wow how grand is this. What a great meal. Love all the food items that you used here. I will be making this.

    The imagery is great as well making the food look delectable and more appealing.

    Here is an Italian recipe I have using chicken breast also flattened and rolled up you might like: Italian Five Cheese Chicken Roll Ups: Link https://www.dropbox.com/s/b8w8lzmtxpt139e/Italian%20Five%20cheese%20Chicken%20Roll%20ups.docx

    I would like to invite you toi my blog, Fun with Food ( http://www.savorthefood.com/blog ). we would appreciate your readership.

    Mean time I look forward to more great recipes from Golly Gone Primal.

    Randall
    http://www.savorthefood.com

  2. Pingback: Chicken, Broccoli & Potato Divan | Chef Doru's Blog

Leave a Reply

