Bay Scallops and Shrimp Cooked with Bacon

I was hungry on Friday and wanted something quick and easy to cook so I can get my grub on.  I stopped at MOM’s on the way home with the kids and picked up a london broil.  I headed on over to the seafood section because that’s where the kids like to go when they abandon me.  There are tanks over there with live shrimp, crab, and oysters that they enjoy looking at.  Nearby is an assortment of fish and other seafood, and I happened to notice that the shrimp was already peeled and de-veined and I thought, “SCORE!!”  Having them already cleaned saves me the time and trouble of doing that all myself.  I got me a 1/2 pound of shrimp and a 1/2 pound of bay scallops.

I also grabbed a pack of bacon, assorted fruit and vegetables and we made our way home.  Below is my really easy and quick to cook recipe.  I didn’t season the dish because the bacon and its grease is my flavoring.  Oh I’m sure you can season it if you want, and that is entirely up to you.  I think some fresh herbs would really make this dish pop.  Perhaps some basil?  Maybe some green onions?  When I had finally gotten home to make this dish I was already super hungry.  I also don’t have fresh herbs on hand at home so yeah.  Anyhoo…  I hope you enjoy it!

 

BAY SCALLOPS AND SHRIMP COOKED WITH BACON

Ingredients:

1/2 pound of shrimp (peeled and de-veined)

1/2 pound of bay scallops

1/4 pound of bacon (diced)

image

Directions:

1.  Grab your frying pan and heat it on medium to medium high heat.  Add diced bacon and brown them up.  Should be about 5 minutes.

image[1]     image[2]

 

2.  Add scallops and shrimp.  This part shouldn’t take long.  When the shrimp is pink, and the scallops flake when you stick a fork in them, it’s done.

image[3] image[4] image[5]

3.  Now you can drain the bacon fat or you can keep it.  Entirely up to you.

image[6]Untitled

I served this as a side to my steak, which I smashed (Golly SMASH!!) with a meat hammer, and seasoned with garlic/onion powder, parsley flakes and montreal seasoning.  Using the same pan I cooked the appetizer in, I turned the heat to high, threw the meat on, added 4 tablespoons of butter and seared for 1 minute on each side.  POW!!  Dinner is served!!  Oh I also had a side of baked sweet potato, which is not pictured.  🙂

Leave a Reply

