Bacon Wrapped Sirloin Steak

I’m a big fan of wrapping things in bacon.  I am not sure when this dish was made, but I had been meaning to make a post about it.  Most of the meat that I purchase are grass fed or pasture raised.  The less chemicals I can consume the better.  Bacon is always going to be uncured because I would also like to cut back on sugar.  Oh and my bacon will ALWAYS be 100% pork.  I am SO not a fan of turkey bacon.  It tastes weird, if you flip the package and read the ingredient list in the back it’s full of stuff I can’t pronounce, and IT’S NOT REAL BACON!  Why deny yourself the deliciousness of REAL bacon and eat that fakey stuff?  I’ve gotten into a few discussions with friends who argue that I eat too much bacon and that my cholesterol is going to go through the roof and I’m going to get fat.

Listen here party people…  Since I’ve changed my lifestyle to Paleo, I’ve started weight training, and I’ve gotten back on marathon training I have never felt better or stronger.  I have challenged people to stick on this lifestyle change with me for a week and NO ONE has been able to do so.  Then again, that person is going to have to WANT to change.  That person is going to have to make the decision to change their life.  I want to help them.  I want to motivate and support them without no hesitation.  They just have to make that choice.  I can’t do it for them.  Again, I am more than willing to help.  Just ask.

Anyhoo…  What I’m seriously considering for dinner tonight is bacon wrapped steak.  Just a small one with a random side of vegetables.  I had a pretty full day at work today, and I would like to make something that is quick and easy.  So below is my recipe for…

 

BACON WRAPPED SIRLOIN STEAK

Ingredients:

1 sirloin steak (entirely up to you how much you want to eat.  1 lb, 2 lbs, 3 lbs?)

1 package of uncured peppered bacon (Depending on how big your steak is will depend on how many pieces of bacon you’re going to use.)

Seasoning (Whatever you like!  Salt, pepper, parsley, cayenne or chili powder, etc.  Season it to your heart’s content.)

Directions:

1.  Fire up the grill!!

2.  Grab your steak and if you would like to season it do so.  I didn’t.  Bacon is my favorite flavoring.  😉

3.  Wrap the bacon and try to wrap it so that the ends meet on the same side.  See picture below.

Bacon Wrapped Sirloin

4.  By now, the grill is ready (propane will be medium to medium high heat, and Charcoal…  well, when it’s not a fiery inferno) place the steak seam side down.

5.  Cook until the bacon is crispy.  About 3-5 minutes on each side.  Take off heat and let rest for 5-10 minutes.

6.  Cut up, serve with a side of your favorite veggie and ENJOY!

Bacon Wrapped Sirloin 2

 

You can also cook this on the stove top.  I would prefer that you didn’t use a pan with teflon as eventually the teflon will burn off and the chemical fumes will get into your food.  Sometimes they will even start to flake off and that too will get in your food.  When it starts to flake like that GET RID OF IT!!  Your food will taste significantly better if you change your flaky teflon pan to a nice stainless steel one.  Oh yeah, pan on medium high heat and no need for oil.  The bacon will start to cook, the fat will melt out, and that is your oil.  POW!  Again, cook for 3-5 minutes on each side or until the bacon is brown and crispy, and let meat rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting and serving.  ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

