Staying Motivated

I have said in the beginning that I’m not the skinniest of people.  I’m working on that, and I work on it everyday.  They say that healthy weight loss is 80% diet and 20% exercise.  I can be running miles and still not see the results that I want.  For the last couple of months I’ve been weight lifting at the gym with PaleoJoe and I am happy to say that I feel stronger.  Having muscles raises metabolism.  Muscle burns fat!

When I first started working out at the gym I was intimidated by the machines.  I got a personal trainer, but we focused mainly on full body workouts.  I wasn’t even exposed to the weight room.  From there, I started running more which eventually became a hobby.  I love to run.  I like losing myself in the music and pounding out miles on the pavement.  It gives me a break from work, the kids, and well…  life.  I always feel better after a run and I always tell myself, “Do this again tomorrow.”  I’m also losing weight which is always a good thing.  My first half marathon was October 2011 in San Jose.  I haven’t stopped since.

image[3]  image[1]

Since I’ve started weight lifting I have noticed that I’m eating more, but I’m making healthier choices.  I’ve adopted the Paleo Lifestyle which, as PaleoJoe puts it, is Atkins 2.0  A combination of cardio and strength training is working for me, and hopefully you will be inspired to make it work for you.

image[6]

For Mother’s Day I posted that I got a Nike+ Fuelband as a gift from PaleoJoe.  It is an AMAZING gift.  You can choose three preset daily goals of points.  You get points by being active.  My current preset is to 3000 daily points which is for people that are active, but not athlete active.  Like…  normal person active.  I missed out on the first day because I was just setting it up and didn’t get to catch the points from the morning, but the first full day I had met my goal.  On my second day, I was tired and not really feeling like going for a run.  PaleoJoe motivated me to go and:

image

POW!  2nd day goal achievement!  I was on a roll!!  Then the third day… yesterday… I didn’t really feel like it.  I had a full day at the office, I had been on my feet in the kitchen cooking dinner and meal prepping for the next day, and then the kids came home and they were in need of attention.  I was pooped.  I had put them to bed for the night, and was about to change into comfy pajamas, but then I looked at my wall:

image[2]

I call this my wall of achievement.  These are race bibs from all of the races that I have participated in since August of 2011.  I plan on adding more to the wall and will eventually fill it up.  My kids have also participated in their own races and are very excited about participating in it again this year.  So I looked at my wall, and I looked at my kids who were slowly passing out from the excitement of the day, and I sucked it up and went on a run.  No more excuses!!

image[4]

 

POW!!  3rd day in a row and I am now on a streak.  I’m writing this post to hold myself accountable.  I’m writing this post to keep myself motivated.  I’m writing this post to inspire.  There will be days when I’m dead tired, but I want to be fit and healthy and be a role model for my kids.  I want them to make healthy food choices and be active.  I want them to one day pass this message on to their kids.  Eat heathy, eat clean, and stay on track with your fitness goals.

“Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t.”  🙂

Leave a Reply

