Gluten/Sugar Free Blueberry Muffins

I was up ridonkulously early on Saturday for some unknown reason.  I think my internal alarm clock decided that Saturday was a good day to be up, and promptly at 5:45 am I was woken up.  Try as I might I could not get back to sleep.

Rather than tossing and turning in bed, and possibly waking up the kids, I got up and got productive.  Morning duties, started the laundry, and then baking!

I had a couple of ripe bananas that needed to get used somehow so I decided that perhaps a muffin would be ideal.  I didn’t have dates though, so I couldn’t make the banana date muffins, which are a big hit with the kids.  Then I remembered that there were blueberries in the fridge.  LIGHTBULB!  Blueberry muffins it is!

I did a google search of recipes and I found a couple that were promising, but I didn’t have all of the ingredients.  In the end, I found one that best suited my needs, but since I didn’t have honey on hand and I didn’t want to use sugar, I used a banana instead.  The original link can be found HERE.  Any changes to the recipe are in italics.

GLUTEN/SUGAR FREE BLUEBERRY MUFFINS

Ingredients:

Eggs, pastured (3, Unfortunately I did not have the luxury eggs in stock, so I used conventional.)
Butter, grass-fed (2 TBS) (Is Kerrygold grass fed?  I don’t know, but it sure is delicious!)
Coconut milk or whole milk — I used coconut milk (2 tbsp)
1/2 a banana (Eat the other half!  It’s delicious!)
8 ounces organic fresh or frozen blueberries (3 TBS) — please do not use conventional blueberries — it’s important that they are organic* (I used a 1/4 cup of frozen blueberries and yes, they were organic.)
Sea salt (1/4 tsp)
Vanilla, organic, additive-free (1/4 tsp)
Coconut flour (1/4 cup)
Baking powder  (1/4 tsp)

image (7)

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 400F

2. In a food processor, blend together eggs, butter, coconut milk, 1/2 a banana, salt, and vanilla.  If you do not have a food processor use a blender.  If you don’t have a blender then there is absolutely nothing wrong with mixing it by hand.  Suggestion, have the butter come to room temperature so that it is easy to combine the ingredients.  You will have chunks of butter floating around your batter.

image

3. Combine coconut flour with baking powder and thoroughly mix into batter until there are no lumps.

image (1)

4.  Fold in blueberries.

image (2)

5.  Line your muffin tin with liners and fill each cup as evenly as possible.

image (3)

6.  Put in oven and cook for 13-15 minutes.  Oven temperatures will vary to keep an eye on your muffins.  They are done when you stick em in the middle with a toothpick and the toothpick comes out clean.

7.  Take out of oven, let them cool and serve!  Try them warm with a bit of butter and let that butter melt all over that muffin.  Mmmm…  Tasty!

image (4)

 

What I would change…  as you can see from the pictures, the batter will rise to about 1/2 way up.  I’m thinking about doubling the recipe next time so that the cup fills up and you get that delicious muffin top rising over that liner.  To me, the best part of a muffin or cupcake is that top part.  Other than that, I would’t change a thing.  I’ll have to try this recipe again with honey and see how sweet it is.  PaleoJoe and I don’t eat many sweets, and when we do they’re just barely sweet.

Anyhoo…  hope you are having an amazing weekend, and if you’re not…  it’s not too late to start!!

3 responses to “Gluten/Sugar Free Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

