Weekend Update

PaleoJoe and I slept in on Sunday, which almost never happens for me because I’m an early bird.  Of course, as you wake up more and you start to get ready for the day, you get hungry.  I remembered that there was a bag of shiitake mushrooms in the fridge and they are fantastic in an omelette.  I don’t know how PaleoJoe does it, but he makes an amazing omelette.

Skillet was preheated and the bacon was sizzling.  Onions and mushrooms were on another pan sizzling in coconut oil and then later ghee.  I think there were 8 eggs cracked open in a bowl with a ridonkulous amount of garlic, pepper and salt.  Once the innards were all cooked, PaleoJoe scrambled the eggs and put it in the frying pan to cook up.

Now I don’t know if he had forgotten about the eggs for a bit, the stove was on too high, or perhaps there was too much stuff to fold over the egg and make it into an omelette, but the omelette was in danger of breaking and causing a mess.  So he left it flat and open and plopped everything on it to finish up cooking.  When all is said and done we have a breakfast pizza:

IMG_1316 IMG_1318

 

It was very good.  I’m sure you can play around with the toppings and make the breakfast pizza of your dreams, but this one right here was divine!  Who says you can’t have pizza for breakfast?  🙂  What else would you call this?  Frittata?  Crustless quiche?  I like breakfast pizza better.  🙂

Every so often we’ll have happy food accidents.  Another one we had this weekend was a stuffed avocado.  Wait, is it stuffed if you’re just putting something on top of it?  Well anyhoo…  it was Saturday afternoon and we had just got back from a busy afternoon of grocery shopping and a kick ass back workout at the gym.  We were hungry and so PaleoJoe put together a smoothie while I popped my head into the fridge to put something quickly together. I found our Tuna Salad and an avocado.

I cut the avocado in half and scored lines in it with my knife so that it would be easier to scoop out the avocado with the tuna salad.  Yup!  I topped the avocado with the tuna salad.

IMG_1297

 

The smoothie had two scoops of the homemade ice cream that I had made, Coconut oil, raw whole milk, raw unroasted cashews, 7 strawberries, 1 mango, 1 apricot, and 3 free range eggs.  It was fruity, yet there was a hint of chocolate in there from the ice cream.  Super tasty!!

Oh wait, I had forgotten the lunch that he made me just before we went on the grocery run.

IMG_1288

 

Oven roasted salmon filet with mixed vegetables.  We had it outside because it was a beautiful and warm day.  On the laptop we watched this hilarious YouTube channel called Bro Science.  You can find it here:  http://www.youtube.com/user/BroScienceLife

This guy is the Jenna Marbles of the gym.  Super frickin’ hilarious!

I just now realized that I’ve been jumping around on this weekend update.  My bad.  It’s the typical busy weekend for me.  Dropped the kids with their Dad on Saturday afternoon.  Lunch with PaleoJoe, grocery shopping, gym, and meal prep.  Sunday there was a festival in Campbell called Boogie on the Bayou that we went to for a couple of hours.  We had the breakfast pizza before leaving so we weren’t tempted to buy any of the food.  I did buy a pound of cherries and this smoker.

IMG_1348

I’ll write more about it later.  After Campbell we went to the gym to work on our chesticles and then back home for food.  I’ll write more on that later.

We ended our Sunday with a trip to our favorite bar for karaoke night and fabulous people.  All in all, a fantastic and fun weekend.  🙂

Leave a Reply

