Korean Melon

Ever heard of a Korean Melon?  I hadn’t until about 3 days ago when I was out grocery shopping with PaleoJoe.  When we grocery shop we mainly stick to the perimeter of the store where all of the REAL food is located.  Processed foods are bad you know?  While in the produce section I happened to glance over where the fruit were and saw this yellow fruit.

IMG_1452

This one is about 6 inches in length with maybe a 4 inch diameter.  It wasn’t heavy, and I tried to find one with the least amount of bruises and was firm.  Since I had never had this fruit before I decided to buy two of them and then get my google on to see what this fruit was all about.

I first did a search of how to prepare it.  It is very very easy.  The skin of the fruit is very thin so if you wanted to, you can give it a wash and munch away.  I didn’t do that.  I used a knife peeled it.  I’m sure you could use a peeler if you really wanted to.  Again, the skin is thin so you shouldn’t have any problem peeling it.

IMG_1454

So as you can see, the meat of the fruit is white.   The smell if fresh, sweet, and like a melon.  Cantaloupe, honey dew, etc.

IMG_1455

 

This is the inside of the melon.  As you can see, there are seeds inside.  You can either scoop out the seeds or eat it.  I did both.

IMG_1458

 

The seeds are soft and sweeter than the meat.  I guess I lucked out and chose the right one because it wasn’t soft, but nice and crisp.  Had a crunch to it.  All in all, a very refreshing fruity treat.  I would definitely buy this again.  I haven’t seen this fruit in any good ol’ American supermarkets so your best bet is to check out the nearest Asian market to see if it’s in stock.

Saw an excellent suggestion on the page that I’m going to link to below:  Use the melon as an edible bowl.  Serve cottage cheese, yogurt, fruit salad, etc. in them.  What a great idea!

For more information on the Korean Melon you can go HERE.

Leave a Reply

