Paleo Friendly Kabobs

I am all for easy recipes.  I’m a busy mom of two kids who can sometimes drive me up the wall.  I love them.  🙂

I’m also an active person, and when I complete a workout at the gym or just come back from a long run I need food!  I’m starving!  I can’t wait 1 hour, 2 hours or 3 hours for my food to be prepped and cooked.  I’m hungry now!  You know what’s a quick and easy recipe?  Kabobs.

It’s Paleo friendly, it’s healthy, and it’s quick!

For this particular kabob I had the following ingredients:

IMG_0727

Bell Pepper, Linguica, Onion, Shrimp and Scallops.  What’s not pictured is bacon.   At the last minute I decided to wrap the scallops in bacon because… well…  bacon is delicious.  😛

Threw it on the grill for a couple of minutes…

IMG_0811

 

POW!  Delicious!!  You can add mushrooms, tomatoes or zucchini if you want.  DEE-LISH!

Notes:  The linguica is already cooked so all you are doing is heating it up.  The veggies and shrimp will take about the same amount of time to cook which is 2-3 minutes.  You will know when the shrimp is cooked by the pink outer skin.  The bacon wrapped scallop will take a bit longer.  You will know when the scallop is cooked when it is opaque.  This takes about 5 minutes for the large sea scallop and about 2-3 for the smaller bay scallops.

A little note abut the skewers…  I have heard that it is better that you soak the bamboo skewers in water for 20-30 minutes so that they don’t burn.  I’ve done that.  Still came burned off though not as quickly as if I hadn’t soaked them.  Don’t want to deal with burnt bamboo in your mouth then I would recommend purchasing the metal skewers.  I reckon it’s Earth friendly.  Just make sure to store them where you won’t be able to stick your hand in the drawer and stab yourself.  Bleeding is not cool…

So as you can see from the various recipes that I’ve posted, the Paleo diet isn’t just meat meat meat.  There’s lots of variety and delicious food to be had.  Just as long as it is fresh, preferably organic and preferably grass fed/pasture raised/wild.  Yes, I do have dairy but it’s raw and unpasteurized.  I’ve read articles this past week of people bashing the paleo diet and that it’s just a fad diet.  It’s really not.  It’s about eating fresh food.  It’s about cutting out the processed foods and sugars.  It’s about eating healthy.

Do I miss grains?  Yeah, but then I think about my Dad and his battle with diabetes.  How he has to check his sugar levels many times throughout the day to make sure it’s at a safe level.  How he has to take medicine when that level is too high.  How he has to watch his bread and sugar intake.  That’s just not for me.

Eat CLEAN party people!  If you need help with that let me know.  I an more than willing to help.  Happy Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

