Rambutan

Ever heard of Rambutan?  It’s a funny looking fruit that looks similar to lyechee, but this one has that hair all over it.  I had first heard of this fruit from my friend Justin.  He said that if I like lyechee, then I’m going to like this.  I had picked up a pack of them at my local Asian grocery market and took it home.

IMG_1405 IMG_1406

But how do you open it?  I had no idea.  The outer part is kind of hard, but I couldn’t peel it easily.  Thank goodness for YouTube because someone had posted a video on how to open a ramubutan on there.  It was very simple.  Take a knife and press down into the fruit until you feel it cut through the shell.  You’ll feel it.  Don’t cut all the way through.

IMG_1407

Once you’ve cut all the way around you can pull the top shell off and then the fruit.

IMG_1408 IMG_1409

It is now ready to eat.  Please note, that there is a seed in the middle of the fruit.  It’s not so tasty.  The fruit itself is juicy and sweet.  For more information on Rambutans please click HERE and HERE.

 

Leave a Reply

